(Colombia, b. 1979)

If a work is composed of movements, we could say that a composer’s life, as his own works, is amalgamated in the same manner. These are the three movements that could summarize the life of Víctor Agudelo, a Colombian composer born in 1979, who has achieved a consolidated style parting from the hybridization between his country’s traditional music, in a syncretic way, and contemporary music. The result: each piece is unique, as unique is the complex research process from which they emerge.

First movement: The rivers
After a childhood amongst tiples (Colombian small guitar), bambucos and pasillos (Colombian popular music genres) and a youth marked by the first compositions, Víctor joined in 1998 the Universidad EAFIT to study music. As a student he composed in 2003 Las Cuatro Chalupas (The four boats), work that made him a promising composer in his country and launched him into the international realm.

Second Movement: The continents
Víctor traveled to the United States to take master and doctorate studies in composition, theory and orchestral conducting at the University of Memphis. Under maestro Kamran Ince’s baton, he incorporated to his musical aesthetics sonorities from other latitudes (Australia, Indonesia, Mongolia, Sardinia). It was during those days that he composed Continental Prism, work that received the Morton Gould Young Composer Award, ASCAP Foundation, New York (2009). During that time he also composed Pagoda Tale, which sums up his travel to China as a conductor and assistant pianist of the University of Memphis Symphony Orchestra, and two compositions where he approaches the difficult situation of the armed conflict and the social inequality of his country: Bojayá-Chocó 2002 and Mazorca a $1000.

Third Movement: The return
Víctor returned to Colombia and experimented a compositional phase that moved away from national referents. That work originated such compositions as Hexaedro, Epitaphium and . But his interest for Colombian influences came back and from it surge pieces such as El Sombrerón (The big hat) and Diálogos Montunos (Mountain dialogues). Today Víctor teaches at the EAFIT University, conducts the group Ensamble Periscopio and the research Whites, Blacks and Mulatas.

Works by Víctor Agudelo at Filarmonika Music Publishing

Works under Digital Distribution
La Trocha 2001 piano 08:00
Techno campero modelo 79 2009 marimba 08:00
La fritanga 2001 horn & piano 04:00
Mi ángel guardián 2007 violin & piano 07:00
´Zekiel 2007 clarinet & piano 05:00
´Zekiel 2007 viola & piano 05:00
El cachacosteño 2002 viola & piano 05:00
Caramanta 2001 flute & piano 03:00
Hexaedro 2012 flute & piano 10:00
Arepaehuevo 2010 marimba & percussion 06:00
Epitaphium 2012 marimba & percussion 06:00
Grand prix 2007 clarinet, cello & piano 06:00
Kaleidoscopio 2005 violin, cello & piano 12:00
Mazorca a $1000 2006 clarinet, cello & piano 20:00
Bojayá-Chocó 2002 2004 cl, bsn, vln & pno 06:00
Mamarracho 2012 violoncello quartet 05:00
Cinco palo$ 2014 wind quintet 12:00
Continental Prism 2008 ensemble 30:00
Traducciones en San Pelayo 2004 trumpet & ensemble 08:00
Analepsis 2011 trumpet and ensemble 08:00
Arrullo de paz 1999 choir 02:00
Ave regina coelorum 1999 choir 02:00
Ave verum corpus 1999 choir 02:00
Ensalada de verduras 2002 choir 02:00
El ángel ha partido 2003 choir 02:00
Poema 2007 choir 06:00
Sangre de hincha 2001 choir and ensemble 08:00
El ángel ha partido 2014 choir & orchestra 05:00
Cuna de cartón 2006 choir & orchestra 15:00
Macondo 1999 string orchestra 10:00
Rosalbita 2001 string orchestra 05:00
Vueltaoriente 2010 string orchestra 09:00
Las cuatro chalupas 2003 orchestra 12:00
Pagoda tale 2008 orchestra 10:00
Memorias del olvido 2010 orchestra 15:00
www.ATRESBANDAS.com 2013 orchestra 22:00
Diálogos montunos 2015 piano & orchestra 10:00

Víctor Agudelo’s Personal Website