(Colombia, b. 1984)

Mauricio Arias is a musician, composer, pianist and improviser, one of the most versatile Colombian musicians of his generation.

Mr. Arias was born in Bogotá, Colombia, where he began his piano studies at age thirteen with professor Ludmiła Weber, with whom he studied until his graduation from Corpas University. He later studied with Baruch Meir and Robert Hamilton at Arizona State University (MM and DMA). He has participated in courses with Joaquín Achúcarro, Eteri Andjaparidze and Vladimir Feltsman. His composition teachers include Rodney Rogers and Jorge H. Pinzón. Mr. Arias has taken part in SYNTHETIS summer courses for composers, whose faculty has included Zygmunt Krauze, Chen Yi, Paul Patterson, Paweł Hendrich, Alessandro Solbiati, Philippe Manoury, Simon Steen-Andersen, Martijn Padding and Zhou Long.

On 2012-2013, Mr. Arias served as teacher at Arizona School for the Arts. He is currently professor of piano at the University of the Andes. He is also a freelance composer and collaborative pianist.

Works by Mauricio Arias at Filarmonika Music Publishing

Works under Digital Distribution
Toccata Bachkovsky 2013 piano 10:00
Arizona Mirage 2015 piano 05:00
¡Oigo voces! 2016 choir & piano 06:00
Despierta 2017 choir & piano 05:00
Dynamo 2006 string quartet 07:30
A la memoria de 21 ángeles 2014 trumpet & piano 08:00
Entrada (o salida) concertante 2016 3 tpt, hn, tbn, tuba 08:30
A través de mis ojos 2015 orchestra 08:30
Rapsodia camaleónica 2012 trumpet, piano & orch. 21:00
Rapsodia camaleónica 2012 trumpet & 2 pianos 21:00
Variaciones fantásticas sobre ‘La guaneña’ 2016 trumpet & concert band 13:00
Variaciones fantásticas sobre ‘La guaneña’ 2016 trumpet & piano 13:00

Mauricio Arias’s Personal Website